Discussion Reflection

February 7, 2009 at 10:05 am 1 comment

The opportunity to learn more about the wireless technology and then shared this information with my classmates was a process that started with the reading materials, the structure of my learning, what to share during the 10 minute presentation, the presentation and then the comments of my classmates after the discussion.

When I read the article for my presentation, at first it was confusing, I didn’t know if it was a historical event full of dates and names, then I read it again and it turn from a historical article to and article of how the wireless technology impacted the American society, all the struggle of the inventors, the technology and government interest and regulation, and how one idea was the base for another innovative idea.

Then it came the decision about what to present, everything was important, so that is when I remember that one of the books, I think it was Zen’s, that if everything was important then nothing was important. I wrote down everything that I thought it was important in terms of relevance to my topic, social impact and government intervention and finally a brief history of the technology itself.  Now how to make it interesting and in 5 Power Point slides.

The presentation was a chalange, I practice it many times and noticed that I was talking for more than 10 minutes, so I have to cut more and more until I made it.  But I must confess that I had to talk fast which it was okay when I practiced it, but when I was presenting that changed, it became a challange that I could have avoided by cutting more.  However, at the end the comments of my classmates were very positive and I felt better about the presentation, but if I have to do it again I’ll definetely cut more material so that I won’t have to speak so fast.

Entry filed under: Discussion Leader Reflection. Tags: .

Wireless Technology Communication: Government Regulation and Social Impact Is the Internet Space Sustainable for the Freedom in the Commons Model?

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. mgm5  |  February 8, 2009 at 8:29 pm

    Rubi, it did not seem like you were talking too fast but I agree that it is very difficult to pare down your thoughts to just the essential. Your hard work definitely showed. Meg

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Pages

Recent Posts

February 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728  

