Class Reflection Week 9

August 20, 2008 at 6:35 pm Leave a comment

The first part of the lecture about what is enough for copy rights was very interesting.  It made me really think about the right of the creator.  I have been more toward no copy rights, but when I think of Leonardo Da Vinci (the Mona Lisa) or Ludwig Van Beethoven (Moonlight), I think that they deserve to be recognize forever, even if this means I have to pay in order for me to enjoy their art (150 years is not enough).  But I have to admit that when it comes to certain artist I don’t feel the same, because I think that only Masters should have copyrights, but what decides who is a master? 

The class discussions were very informative especially about the future of technology for the next 5000 days and about self policing.  I really don’t know how it’s going to be tomorrow, it change so fast!

In regards to We’re All Journalist Now, I don’t really know how internet will continue to change journalism.  Today, Yahoo announced that they launched buzz, which will allow regular people to vote for the best news which includes news from blogs.

Wikieconomics: the 4 ideas: core to open, peer production, sharing and going global.  This is really great! I red last week that Wikipedia is building a search engine to compete with Google.  I think they have the beta version now.  I don’t know what will come next! But would this be the end of monopolies like Apple?  Probably not as someone mentioned yesterday that they are doing very well.

Here comes everybody:  transaction cost, lower.  You don’t need to be part of an organization as long as they have a good plan.  Group action smartmob, that you’re groups don’t get corrupted.  How the correct or incorrect way to share data can affect.  Social networks, you need to have both the few friends one and the ones with 500 friends.  Technology is more socially interesting. Mobs to protest against the government and now is easier to organize.  

Finally, it is very sad to hear that Pandora, my favorite radio station may go out of business due to royalties.  This is really sad, but as a consumer, I’m willing to pay an annual fee just to continue listening to the music I like and no the music that someone else like and with tons of commercials.

 

Entry filed under: Reflection. Tags: .

Questions: Week 9 Final Project Link

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Pages

Recent Posts

August 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Oct »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

