Class Reflection Week 4

July 16, 2008 at 11:48 am 1 comment

The first part of the lecture was overwhelming in regards to the amount of new web sites offering so many different services.  The one that surprised me the most, was the one in which you can make a wish list and then anybody can use it as a reference in case that they need to buy you a gift.   I guess that I’m old fashion, I like to listen to my family and friend needs and have an idea of what it will be a good gift for them.  Then I like to go outside and look for it.  The time that someone spends in buying you a gift is also important; I think it shows that you really care instead of giving the gift as an obligation or payment for something…

I like Minebox, the program that McCann is working on, because it will save a lot of time managing the e-mail.  I wish that this program was available when I was managing a state wide program.  Minebox: connects to inbox and makes a match with a prioritized list based on who sent you more e-mail, who you response more quickly, who you sent attachments (people who matters through social network). Gets you quickly to what you need to find from your inbox (e-mail).  This is a tool that in the future, if available, I’ll definitely use it, because it will save me time and I can use this time to go out to buy a gift for my daughter or my best friend.

One internet tool that made me thought about the potential market for internet tools in Latin-America (these internet tools need to be culturally appropriate), was HelpShare activities.  I noticed that there were more questions than answers in Latin America. 

I also injoyed the discussions, especially the one about a new model for newspapers.  I think that people who like to be informed, will pay to read the news on the internet, but I think that the problem is on how much to charge and the restriction on what newspapers you have access to with this fee.  For example if you pay for the Seattle Times, then you can only read the Seattle Times.  I wish that they come up with a system that I can pay one fee and they give me a password that I can use to be able to access any newspaper I want.

Entry filed under: Reflection. Tags: .

Questions Class Reflection for Week 5:

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. kegill  |  July 21, 2008 at 12:42 pm

    Rubi, it’s good to see that you are regularly linking the reading/discussion back to Latin American audience. That helps keep material grounded.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Pages

Recent Posts

July 2008
M T W T F S S
    Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

